Category Archives: Uncategorized

Exeter City launch Autism packs

Exeter City launch Autism packs

Packs aim to make matchdays inclusive to all.

The club has teamed up with the Junior Grecians and the Exeter City Disabled Supporters Association, who have kindly sponsored the packs.

Oldham Athletic and Plymouth Argyle have introduced similar packs in the last couple of seasons and as there are more people with disabilities wanting to watch live local football, it’s a no brainer as a fans owned club to introduce our own Autism packs here at St James Park.

The packs are for supporters who have Autism or a condition on the Autism Spectrum and aim to help make their matchday experience more enjoyable and comfortable.

The items will come complete with an Exeter City draw string bag and includes the following:

  • Autism Awareness ID Card with lanyard, which can be shown to matchday staff and stewards for when asking for assistance when visiting St James Park.
  • An easy to follow stadium guide.
  • Noise-cancelling Ear Defenders (if required).
  • Fidget spinner.

Easy To Find Areas.jpg

Nick Saunders, Exeter City’s disability liaison officer and DSA Chairman said: “For the past 16 years our football club have made massive strides in many areas to ensure that the club is accessible to all and with the fantastic help and support from the Disabled Supporters Association over the years in many, many ways.

“We are ecstatic to be able to offer these packs to supporters with Autism and to help make St James Park a safe environment and make coming to matchdays an enjoyable experience.”

Clive Harrison, ECFC director and Supporters Trust Trustee added: “As a parent of a child on the Autism Spectrum who has faced the challenges of visiting a busy football stadium, I appreciate the efforts of the Disabled Supporters Association in providing these Autism Packs.

“As a director, trustee and a volunteer with the Junior Grecians, Exeter City’s Junior supporters club, I am extremely proud of what the Club and Disabled Supporters Association have achieved in making the stadium not only accessible but also comfortable for all its visitors.

“Exeter City is consistently striving to be a safe, welcoming and inclusive family club, these packs are a demonstration of that. The Junior Grecians are very pleased to be part sponsoring the packs and know they will be a valuable aid to their users.”

The Autism packs are available to those aged 7 to 14 years old and will need to be pre-ordered prior to matchday as proof of disability is asked for (only once) and we ask that this is supplied in person by a parent or guardian as the young person’s name and parents or guardians contact number will be added to the Autism Awareness ID Card to help Exeter City with safeguarding as the young person’s own wellbeing and safety is paramount.

The only proof required is a personal letter from a consultant; similar or GP’s (doctors) letter confirming diagnoses, this is to ensure that packs go to those who the packs are designed for and due to the limited number of packs available, packs will be issued on a first come, first served basis.

This can be done by visiting the club shop/reception prior to matchday, as stated above.

Exeter City would like to remind supporters that not all enquiries will result in receiving a pack.

For enquires on availability, please email: or

ECFC Video on Disability and Football.

Exeter City Football Club have officially announced the online launch of a new short film, produced as part of the ECFC Museum project.

The film, Disability and Football, uses interviews and archival material to take a closer look at how the Club works with people of all abilities, both on and off the pitch.

We at the Exeter City Disabled Supporters Association fully supports the video as do the Exeter City Community Trust, and features many of those people who work with Exeter City to make a difference, including Will Allan (ECFC community Trust DIO), Nick Saunders (ECDSA/ECFC DLO), Jeanne Jones (ECDSA committee member), Greg Hill (ECDSA member/ECFC programme seller) and Paul Farley (ECFC Director and Senior safeguarding manager & equality and inclusion lead).

Will Barrett, who coordinates the museum project, and was part of the film production team said: “It’s always great to see how much goes on at City behind the scenes and in the community.

“This film was a chance for us to get to know some of the wonderful people involved in making a difference at the club, and to explore something that is really positive about the club’s culture and heritage that people may not know much about.”

The ECFC Museum is the latest initiative led by the ECFC History Group and Grecian Archive team, and is supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund and the University of Exeter.

To learn more about the project, or discover how you might be able to get involved, please click here.